top of page

Just some Pictures of Food I ate in Italy...

That's it. That's the post.



 

I recently took a week-long trip to Italy, starting in Florence before hitting up Tuscany, Rome, Naples, and the Amalfi Coast (more on that epic itinerary in another post).


While the views were breathtaking - with sweeping landscapes and soaring cities filled with hundreds of years of ancient history - ya girl was most excited about the food. You see, my favorite dish is pasta. Ravioli, risotto, spaghetti, you name it. If it has noodles, I'm all in. So heading to the Pizza and Pasta capital of the world was a dream come true! And let me tell you right now:


Italy did not disappoint.


For basically every restaurant, coffee shop, or gelato stand I went to, the food was bumpin. Now, let's reminisce together about some good Italian food. And take notes!


 

BREAKFAST


try the "special chocolate nutella mocha" at la colazione

To be honest, I wasn't too big on breakfasts during this trip...much of it was the same:


Croissants (in Italy, they're often filled with cream, lemon, or custard!) paired with an Americano, cappuccino or Italian creamy iced coffee.


I enjoyed this delicious and chocolatey meal at a cafe near Piazza del Duomo at LA COLAZIONE in Florence! The view of the dome and cathedral was a huge plus.






 

ANTIPASTO

Okay, here's where it starts to get good. I usually head straight for the main dishes, but in Italy, I took advantage of the wide array of appetizers offered. My favorites were bruchetta and caprese!



 

PASTA


And here we are! The main event (for me). Pasta.




Everywhere you go in Italy, you'll find some good pasta dishes. But the best places are those off the beaten path. Instead of dining near the Duomo in Florence, for example, head to MERCATO CENTRALE for some authentic Italian Cuisine. Unfortunately, Florence has seen a rise in tourist-centered restaurants, so it can be difficult to find authentic pasta if you don't know where to look.



But the best pasta I had was in Rome...



egg spaghetti carbonara



...At a family-owned restaurant called EL TABERNELLE. You know it's an authentic Italian restaurant when there are photos on the wall lol. I had a delicious egg spaghetti carbonara and vino tinto here, all for about 12 euros. Finish things off with a custom cocktail at DRINK KONG and you're good for the night!











pasta made right before your eyes!




If you're looking for an interesting night out, try OSTERIA FORTUNATA, also in Rome -


They make the pasta in the window right in front of you! From scratch. But it can be pretty busy, even amongst the locals, so get there early.










And while Rome had the best pasta I tasted in Italy, it was also where I had the most disappointing dish...



squid ink pasta

Attempting to have a fancy night out, I dined at the rooftop restaurant, TERRAZZA DEI PAPI. And while the view was great, and the atmosphere complete with twinkling fairy lights set the mood, my overprices squid ink pasta left me wishing I'd just dined at El Tabernelle a second time instead. I'd say this place is for you if you're main interest is a luxurious setting for your meal.




 

PIZZA


I was holding out on trying real Italian pizza until I reached Naples...


...And it was well worth the wait! Naples is the birthplace of Napoleon pizza (if you couldn't tell by the name). This pizza is much thinner than American-style pizzas, and you use a fork and knife to cut the slices yourself. You can mix and match toppings to create your own personalized dish! My favorite combo was tomato base, mozzarella, salmon, salami, and spinach! And of course a glass of vino tinto.


napoleon pizza

I also had a stuffed pizza in Rome...that thing was bigger than my whole head!


stuffed pizza

It's said the best pizza in all of Italy can be found at GINO SORBILLO - and there are only three locations in the world: Naples, Rome, and Milan.


 

AND OF COURSE...GELATO


A tip on finding authentic gelato in Italy...


Always check the color of the pistachio gelato. Almost every glaceria will have this flavor. If it's a vibrant, bright green, it probably means the gelato is artificially flavored. But if it's a dusky, lighter green, you can bet this gelato is handmade! Also, I highly recommend the dark chocolate flavor.


Great Gelato Spots in Italy:


In Rome: the stands around FONTANA TREVI


In Florence: GELATERIA SANTA TRINITA, anywhere in SAN GIMIGNANO (world-famous gelato!), and near GALLERIA DELL ACCADEMIA and PIAZZA DEL LA SIGNORIA



 

And there you have it! A quick guide to dining right in Italy. Until next time,


CIAO!

 

How to Support Me: Venmo Instagram


5b9586_3ac401ff312d4988847ae3b6d5b988cb~

Welcome to
Goddess Travels!

Travel has had such a profound impact on my life, and I've dedicated myself to experiencing as much as possible!

I created Goddess Travels to inspire like-minded individuals to explore, grow, and learn along with me. This community is here to inspire those with a kindred, adventurous spirit.

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CURRENTLY IN...

Paris,
France

CATEGORIES

SUGGESTED POSTS

1851797-200.png

Follow on 
Instagram!

bottom of page