top of page

HOW TO: Grad School Abroad

Taking the next step in your education, international edition!



Hey, y'all! It's been eight months since I graduated from the University of Kent with my Master's, and after these past few months of letting that adventure settle and tackling life in the "real world," I'm here to give you all the deets on how I did it!


Many students don't realize the opportunities available abroad to pursue a graduate degree and the advantages of gaining an international education. For example, countries abroad offer significant advantages to students when compared to their US counterparts, including funding like the DAAD program in Germany and accelerated programs that allow you to cut years off the time to get a degree, such as in the UK. Even many non-English speaking countries offer classes or entire degrees in English, meaning you can avoid a significant language barrier while immersing yourself in a university overseas.


First off: grad school out of the country is very different from studying abroad during undergrad (you can find info on that here). This time around, there isn't any hand-holding when it comes to housing or even the initial search for programs. It might not sound like much, but that housing search is a wild ride.


So, let's get started! Because when it comes to grad school programs, a head start is key...

 


FINDING THE RIGHT PROGRAM


Attending grad school out of the country can lead to terrific opportunities. For one thing, an international education can look great on a resume, and it also gives a worldly perspective and the opportunity to network and meet people from all over the world.


I chose to study at the University of Kent's Paris campus, rather than on their home campus in Kent, England. This was mostly because Paris is a much bigger city than Canterbury, and I wanted to be able to explore my degree in an environment that fostered the kind of liveliness, creativity, and connection that I was looking for in my education. Also, who doesn't want to study in Paris?


You also want to ensure that any degree you get abroad will translate well once you return to your home country (if you even plan on moving back at all!). This is important to keep in mind when looking for a Master's Program abroad. You may not want to spend one or two years studying in a small city abroad under a program that isn't super well-accredited, only to return home and have employers questioning why you didn't just get a degree at a small university in your country. There are ways to argue that such a degree is just as valuable, but I know lots of us don't want to leave any room for questioning. For a while, I'd wished I'd gone with my acceptance from the London Film School, but my research, education, and the connections I'd made at U Kent proved incredibly valuable despite that school being less well-known internationally.

Ensure the university's program is what you want to do. The investment required to study abroad goes beyond tuition, and there is a significant commitment to move across the globe for a program -- so you want it to be one you'll be passionate about! Additionally, your application will highlight whether or not you are interested in a particular program or just looking for a way to live in a specific city or country. When applying for schools, I did a simple Google search of the type of degree I wanted, plus the country I was interested in studying in, and then narrowed it down from there.


In general, the application process for a European master’s is the same as in the US. You fill out an application, write a statement of motivation, potentially including letters of reference, and possibly do an extra supplement if your specific program requires it. You will also have to apply for a student visa to accept an offer from a university. This often requires proof of finances, a health check, and a background check -- so ensure you can pass all of these before spending the time to apply. But the good news: you can do the application process entirely from your country of origin -- no strings attached, as most universities don't have an application fee, and if you get in you get in, and if you don't you don't! So to all of you procrastinators: JUST APPLY!


FUNDING


THIS IS AN ANTI-STUDENT LOAN BLOG! Check out my page here for more in-depth finance solutions, but here are some general recs:

There are several ways to fund a graduate degree overseas. If you don't have the money to pay for part or all of your tuition, there are still options open to you to help cover the cost.


The typical pace of a two-year master's program will give you time to find work on the side or an internship of some sort, and your student visa will support you in doing this for up to 20 hours a week. During my time in Paris, I attended classes twice a week, which gave me plenty of time to pick up a part-time job and still have time to study and research. When applying for jobs and internships, many companies actively seek international students and will have a general stipend for how much you will earn. I found a job within my first two weeks of school using, again, Google, and searching "type of work + internships/part-time." It sounds too simple to be true, but you'll be surprised how good that search works.


To prepare for your escape abroad, start looking at scholarships -- both through your grad school and outside providers. Universities will likely have a scholarship specifically for international students, so ensure you apply for that! Some countries also subsidize their education. For example, Germany has made all public universities free of tuition for all students, including international ones. This makes Germany an incredibly tempting option for a graduate degree. If you find a German private university that still makes you pay tuition, you can apply for funding through DAAD, the German Academic Exchange Service. In this case, grad school abroad may even be cheaper than at home.

Most international universities are a million times cheaper than those in the United States, which both made me annoyed and incredibly excited. So many options! This isn't the same everywhere, though. Sweden and Denmark, for example, subsidize their universities for citizens but for international students, tuition is just as expensive as in the US.


Another thing to factor in is the VISA application process. For France, I dropped a whole $200 for my student VISA and had to fight tooth and nail to stay in France for three months after graduation. But I did it! Just make sure you coordinate with the abroad office at your university to ensure that you understand all of the stipulations of your VISA before making a decision. You don't want to finish school only to find that you're getting kicked out of the country two weeks later; do your research, and learn if you'll have to renew your VISA before your term is up. A renewable and up-to-date residence permit is key if you plan to stay in a country after graduation.



YOU'RE ACCEPTED! NOW WHAT?


I cannot stress this enough: as soon as you decide on a program, start looking for housing. I had so many friends in Paris who were basically homeless because they didn't start the housing search in time. My advice would be to book an Airbnb for the first three months so that you can dedicate time to visiting apartments, finding roommates, etc. once you're in the country. Many landlords (this was especially true in Paris) have an obsession with meeting with and personally vetting an applicant for months before granting you the keys, especially if you're an international student. It pays to do the housing search once you're physically in the country because it helps you better avoid scams. That 700 euro a month one-bedroom is a hoax, sis!


The housing process is a long one, so take your time finding the right fit. Ask around campus, current students, admissions, and even past students (most Universities will have some kind of social media group you can join) for advice. If you're studying in a major city, find cheaper options by looking at surrounding suburbs. I ended up paying twice as less as some of my classmates for single apartments by choosing housing in Noisy-le-sec and Montrouge rather than directly in the city (think 650 euros a month)!


Transportation is also something to consider, as I doubt y'all are shipping your cars across international waters. In my experience, most European cities are a million times better in that department than the United States. Paris and the surrounding area's transportation was extensive, convenient, and moderately cheap (60 euros for a monthly pass, which included the metro, busses, and suburban trains that take you miles outside the city).



MAKING THE MOST OF YOUR DEGREE


Pursuing a graduate degree is already a significant commitment, and doing so abroad takes that to an entirely new level. However, the benefits of challenging yourself and gaining international experience make this an incredible option for those looking to develop into global citizens. The world is becoming more interconnected, and employers view international work or study experiences as a differentiator when hiring.


If you plan in staying in the country you study in, a degree from that same country will make the job search that much easier, as well as the application for any necessary VISAs. I chose to move back to the US after my time in Paris, and that Paris Masters Degree was a big talking point in all of my interviews. I'm in the Entertainment Industry, and many professionals valued the "worldly" aspect of my resume and were highly interested in my abroad experience. I've also gained connections all over the world, and one of my Paris professors actually helped direct me to my current position!


In addition to the educational benefits, getting a degree abroad will provide a culturally immersive experience filled with experiential learning. You will be challenged and forced to grow your perspective while growing a global personal and professional network. As someone who has studied and lived abroad in two countries, and traveled to over eleven, I cannot speak highly enough about the opportunities my international experience has provided me. If you're considering it, get out there and apply already!


If you're worried about fitting in, or just have some general reservations about packing up and hustling across international waters solo, check out this blog post.


 

For me, studying abroad for my graduate degree was an invaluable experience. Compared with my education for undergrad in the U.S., the degree I earned in Paris taught me to be more independent and take greater ownership of my own study and work habits. I had the opportunity to travel cheaply during breaks, met countless people, and found living in another country a daily challenge and learning experience in itself.


I would recommend pursuing a graduate degree overseas to anyone who is looking for an exciting change in their life. Who knows where it could take you!

 

How to Support Me: Venmo Instagram

5b9586_3ac401ff312d4988847ae3b6d5b988cb~

Welcome to
Goddess Travels!

Travel has had such a profound impact on my life, and I've dedicated myself to experiencing as much as possible!

I created Goddess Travels to inspire like-minded individuals to explore, grow, and learn along with me. This community is here to inspire those with a kindred, adventurous spirit.

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CURRENTLY IN...

Paris,
France

CATEGORIES

SUGGESTED POSTS

1851797-200.png

Follow on 
Instagram!

bottom of page