top of page

5 FREE things to do in Santorini

You don't need to break the bank to get the most out of this popular island!



 

Santorini is one of those places that can definitely break the bank if you're not careful. It's a romantic island with earth-shattering views and an atmosphere that whispers "give me your money" at every turn. And assuming that plane ticket to Greece already had you cringing, it's obvious you'll want to be a little conservative with your coin here.


I visited Santorini for a week when I was in college. A broke college student on a Greek island? How did I do it?



I stuck to the free stuff.


That's not to say I didn't spend any money at all. I just put it towards stuff I really, really wanted to do - like a 90 euro yacht island tour and dinner (GetYourGuide). I booked a cheap hotel room at Villa Milos in Thera (Oia can be expensive), and made plenty of use of their outdoor pool and free breakfast.


I bought smoothies, had drinks on the beach, fancy dinners, and even bought a piece of pottery from an art show (30 euros). And I still had plenty of cash left by the time I left the island.




By taking advantage of free entertainment and saving on my accommodation, I could put my money towards cool activities that would have seemed so much more expensive otherwise. So, here's a quick list of ways to conserve your cash during your Greek Getaway:


 

1. Sightseeing on the Hike to Oia


If you're like me and you don't workout on vacation, this is an awesome way to get some activity in without taking away from your Vacation Mode. This hike works if you stay in the budget-friendly locations of Fira, Thera or Imerovigli but still want to check out the iconic three blue domes in Oia.


From Thera, the hike is ~5 hours, with amazing views of the caldera and hidden churches along the edges of the island. I recommend cooling off in Katerados Beach near the end of the trail to relax after the hike. Plus, you can catch the sunset in Oia to round off your journey (but def uber back).




2. Explore Old Port


Old Port is a beautiful location in Thera, with clear blue waters and pristine boats docked along the rocky cliffside. Walk down a stone staircase to the bay and pass the cute donkeys on the way down! I spent at least half a day there shopping, eating, and admiring the view!


But please don't ride the donkeys - they're not treated very well, and we don't want to contribute to unsustainable practices. If you don't want to walk up or down the steps, opt instead for a cable car ride (6 euros each way) and take in the view!




3. Explore Santorini's Old Churches


There are countless churches on the island with free entry. They are quiet spaces to reflect, so please visit respectfully! Many churches are built into the cliffside, so you're in for a stellar view of the Mediterranean sea from the windows.


If you're so inclined, light a candle and leave it on the altar. It's a pretty special way to pay tribute to the space and create some memories on the island.




4. Cool off in a Museum


One of the many perks of traveling as a student in Europe is that most (if not all) museums will give you free entry! And if you're under 25, you'll often get a discount! But if you look the part, I recommend carrying your student ID with you regardless...


I loved visiting the art galleries and history museums on the island. Most of the art galleries are independently owned, so you can chat with the actual artist about their work...and maybe they'll convince you to take home a handmade pottery piece!




5. Beach Day!


Obviously. It’s an island, so they don’t charge for sand space, and the beaches are not privately owned. Check out Red Sands Beach for some cool rock formations and a secluded feel for your beach day. Or, if you’re into snorkeling, try White Sands Beach (said to have the clearest waters on the island).


You can take the local bus to any of the beaches that aren't within walking distance, but make sure to wave to the bus or the driver will whiz right past you!



 

And there you go! An incomplete list of free things to do in Santorini. Now you have a little more in your budget for that fancy floating breakfast in a cave hotel, or a cliffside dinner...you're welcome.



 

How to Support Me: Venmo Instagram

5b9586_3ac401ff312d4988847ae3b6d5b988cb~

Welcome to
Goddess Travels!

Travel has had such a profound impact on my life, and I've dedicated myself to experiencing as much as possible!

I created Goddess Travels to inspire like-minded individuals to explore, grow, and learn along with me. This community is here to inspire those with a kindred, adventurous spirit.

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CURRENTLY IN...

Paris,
France

CATEGORIES

SUGGESTED POSTS

1851797-200.png

Follow on 
Instagram!

bottom of page