top of page

HOW TO: Have an Epic Vacay on a Budget

FOMO is real, but it's still possible to avoid it with the right budget!



Traveling on a budget can feel like a bummer. You’re going on vacation, who wants to think about saving money? Trust me, I’ve been there. But I’m here to say that you can have an absolutely amazing, unforgettable trip without breaking the bank.

But won’t I miss out on things if I’m on a budget? Nope, if there’s a will there’s a way! You can most definitely experience everything you want to experience while still sticking to your budget. While studying abroad for my MA, I was able to visit 7 different countries while sticking to my tiny student budget.


Here are some budget-conscious tips I used to get the most out of my vacation.

 

PACK IN A CARRY-ON


Definitely one of the best ways to save a little money and increase the ease of your travel. Packing in a carry-on ensures you don’t have to pay huge fees for checked luggage (which adds up when you’re using multiple forms of transport).


Going on a longer trip and not sure if you can squeeze everything into a carry-on? Try bringing a backpack as a personal item plus your rolling carry-on bag. Believe me when I say you shouldn't need a checked bag for a week-long trip, as it will only slow you down. During one of my first trips as a solo traveler, I went to Amsterdam for a week with a checked bag. Walking through the rain with a big suitcase was very awful, and I will never do it again.


This tip will also help when booking cheap flights, as the cheaper flights often only include a carry-on, with the option to pay a lot more for a checked bag.


TRAVEL WITH A FRIEND


Splitting the cost of accommodation is a big one! If your nightly budget was $30 and you travel with a friend, suddenly your nightly budget increases to $60 since you can each pay $30. This means you get to stay somewhere nicer for the same price you would have paid if you were traveling alone! I love solo travel, but I won't say no to those buddy deals!


STAY IN HOSTELS OR AIRBNBS


Sure, hotels may seem nicer and some can be found for pretty cheap, but generally the best way to save some money is to stay in hostels and Airbnbs.

Hostels are essentially hotels, but they have shared rooms that you can stay in for sometimes as little as $10 per night. If you're not keen on staying with strangers, many hostels also offer private rooms for a little extra money. And if you're traveling in a group, you can book a private 4 to 8-bed suite for a fraction of the cost! Don't knock it until you try it.

Airbnbs are another great choice if you want your own space. You can rent private rooms or the whole place and stay in a local’s house. Though Airbnb has gotten considerably more expensive these days, it's worth checking out. Many hosts will offer discounts for local experiences as well!


USE GOOGLE FLIGHTS TO COMPARE PRICES ON DIFFERENT AIRLINES, DATES, TIMES, AIRPORTS ETC

When I start my preliminary planning on a trip, I always use google flights as the first place I search for transportation. It compiles offers from all airlines and orders them according to the best price. It also makes it easy to compare prices on different days and from different airports by showing a handy price graph. Once you find the best flight, you can book directly through google flights, making it super easy and stress-free! If I'm planning far enough in advance, I also like to use a flight tracker so that I'm notified of a price drop.


Other great sites for price comparisons are Skyscanner, Expedia, and Booking.com (for hotel deals). And don't shy away from budget airlines! Many people may scoff at Spirit Airlines, and while I've never flown with them, I've often used RyanAir to travel across Europe (basically the Spirit of Europe). Just remember to double-check what luggage is included -- you don't want to get caught with a checked bag when the flight only includes a carry-on!


TAKE ADVANTAGE OF FREE ACTIVITIES


Personally, I would rather walk around the city for free than pay for the city’s tourist attractions. Your hotel might even offer a free walking tour, so it's worth it to check with the front desk for options.

I’m not saying that you shouldn’t pay to visit any of the notable attractions because part of traveling is seeing what the place is famous for! But I do recommend making a list of your must-see/do experiences and deciding which are worth it to pay for and which can be enjoyed for free. I'm a huge museum buff myself, and I've made the mistake of paying for tickets on tourist sites only to show up and find out that the museum is free!


Of course, this is different for everyone! For example, I really wanted to pay to see the inside of the Colosseum but could do without paying to go up the Eiffel Tower (IMO there are better vantage points elsewhere in Paris). It’s really about weighing what is most important to you and determining what experiences will make you feel like you made the most out of your trip. And if you spend less on activities, you can spend more on food! YAY!

USE PUBLIC TRANSPORT OR WALK TO GET AROUND

Most cities have excellent public transportation systems and I recommend using them. You can get across the city on a subway or a bus for much cheaper than a taxi or Uber. Google Maps is your friend in this case, so don't fret too much about finding your way around a new city. Trust me, it's worth it in countries where Ubers and Taxis can be super expensive or even nonexistent (I'm looking at you, Italy).


Or you can get a little exercise and find your way on foot. Many cities outside of the United States are extremely walkable, so do your research before renting a car in your destination. Walking is my personal favorite way to get around when traveling because it allows you to slow down, explore, and find places you might not have otherwise found.


BUY SNACKS AND BREAKFAST FOOD AT THE LOCAL GROCERY STORE

If you’re like me and are somehow always hungry, this is a great way to save money. I always make sure to have some snacks in my bag so that every time I’m hungry I don’t have to go to a restaurant. And I will usually buy some breakfast food like muffins or fruit so that I don’t have to spend time or money going out for breakfast every morning. It can also feel really nice making yourself a cup of coffee and a fruit plate while gazing out of your hotel window in a new city!


If it's not possible to shop for snacks, aim for small local restaurants in your destination. Street food is often some of the best food I've had while on vacation, and it's way cheaper than a sit-down restaurant, too!



TREAT YOURSELF, BUT IN MODERATION

Part of the fun of traveling is treating yourself. You’re on vacation after all! Definitely do this, but not every day.

Choose one day to go to a nice restaurant, do some shopping, and get that deliciously expensive ice cream or cocktail. Having a designated day where you allow yourself to spend some extra money can be worth it on a vacation, while still ensuring that you aren’t blowing your whole budget every day.









 

All in all, the most important part of traveling on a budget is determining what is most important to you. If you want to pack some extra clothes and pay to check a bag, maybe you try to spend less money eating out at restaurants. If staying in a fancy hotel is important to you, cut costs by walking instead of taking a taxi. If you have a burning desire to visit all the tourist attractions, stay on budget by staying in a hostel.

It’s all about balance. Money doesn’t make memories, your sense of adventure does!

 

How to Support Me: Venmo Instagram

5b9586_3ac401ff312d4988847ae3b6d5b988cb~

Welcome to
Goddess Travels!

Travel has had such a profound impact on my life, and I've dedicated myself to experiencing as much as possible!

I created Goddess Travels to inspire like-minded individuals to explore, grow, and learn along with me. This community is here to inspire those with a kindred, adventurous spirit.

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CURRENTLY IN...

Paris,
France

CATEGORIES

SUGGESTED POSTS

1851797-200.png

Follow on 
Instagram!

bottom of page