top of page

Five Beautiful Day-Trips from Barcelona, Spain

Experience all that Catalonia - and beyond - has to offer!



 

Barcelona is a fantastic urban destination (with beautiful beaches), and there is so much to see and do. But if you limit yourself to staying within the city, you’re missing a lot of what the rest of Catalonia has to offer.


Within a couple of hours of Barcelona, there's a myriad of seaside villages, stunning secret beaches, beautiful historical towns, and cultural and natural attractions! Not to mention that other major Spanish cities are just a hop, skip, and a jump away as well...



I was lucky to have a lot of freedom during my stay in Spain, what with my job being remote three days a week and thus allowing me to sneak in some 3-4 day getaways!




"Work From Home" doesn't have to literally mean putting in those hours on your couch in some sweats...Ya girl was out here reading scripts and translating documentaries with room service on the way.

I loved exploring different Spanish townships, as well as a few larger cities in Spain! And since Barcelona is right on the coast, I could easily hop on a train and explore tons of beautiful coastal beaches and cities.


Here are my top 5 day-trips that you definitely should not miss:


 

MONTSERRAT: Epic Mountain Escape



I hope you aren't afraid of heights! Montserrat mountain is as distinctive as it is imposing – rising up to 1,236 m at its highest peak. The mountain lives up to its name (Montserrat translates to “saw mountain” in Catalan) with its jagged rock formations creating the appearance of a giant serrated handsaw. The mountain has been shaped over time by wind and water, creating the unique formations you see today.


Montserrat is a popular place for hiking and there are trails with incredible views (bring your walking shoes tho lol). Take the cable car and explore the mountain at your leisure. A little more than halfway up the mountain rests the Santa Maria de Montserrat Abbey, a sacred place, and home to the Virgin Mary of Montserrat (also known as the Black Madonna).


I loved hiking the trail up the mountain, exploring the abbey, and finally resting for a drink in the courtyard. Be prepared for a long day and a lot of walking, though the effort is worth it!


How to get to Montserrat from Barcelona:

The journey from Barcelona is fairly straight forward, so long as you plan your trip to Montserrat in advance. Trains to Montserrat from Barcelona leave from the Espanya rail station. Look for the Line R5 headed towards Manresa. You can buy train tickets at the station, and you also have the option to buy tickets here for the cable car up to the monastery (which I advise for da viewssss). The train ride to and from BCN is about 3 hours.


 

GIRONA: A Peek into Medieval History


You’ve likely already seen photos of Girona, even if you don’t realize it! Any Game of Thrones fans out there? (I'm not one of them, but I still thought I'd ask)


The colorful houses that line each side of the Onyar River adorn postcards and photo albums in every corner of the world. There's a certain sense of "old town Spain" here that's very much like Barcelona's Gothic Quarter. The charm of Girona extends beyond this idyllic scene, though. The old town centre in Girona is rustic and enchanting, with new discoveries at every turn. Be sure to wander the Jewish Quarter and visit the museum. Walk the Roman Wall to get a fresh perspective of the city, and stop by the Arab Baths for an even deeper (and wetter) peek into history.


I would recommend a half or full day in this town. It can get quite hot, so hydrate well. I spent the whole day there, but found myself wishing I'd come later in the day and just spent at afternoon or evening there. It's a beautiful city, but I personally got a bit bored after getting there at 10am and having to wait for my train back to Barcelona at 9pm.


How to get to Girona from Barcelona:

Getting from Barcelona to Girona is a fairly easy, as the trains between these two cities run frequently! The train will drop you in Girona in around 40 mins. Buses also do the route to Girona, but are less frequent than trains and take longer. I rode the SEPA bus to Girona, but took the train back.


 

THE COSTA BRAVA: Resort Towns and Hidden Beaches



Costa Brava is Spain’s stretch of coastline that starts north of Barcelona and ends on the border of France. It’s known for impeccable scenery and picturesque coastal villages, as well as wild, rocky cliff sides.


I visited two beaches along the Costa Brava: Sant Pol Del Mar and Lloret Del Mar. I loved both experiences, though the places are very different. Sant Pol is a little more out of the way, with secluded beaches in a smaller town - that made it a bit harder to schedule a train, as they don't run as frequently through here. But y'all, I had a whole stretch of beach to myself, so it was worth it! In contrast, Lloret Del Mar is definitely a resort town, and while the beaches weren't super crowded, they weren't as secluded as other beaches. As you walk down the coast, you'll come across a beautiful castle that sits right at the water's edge. Swimming beneath a majestic castle has been on my bucket list for a while, and I finally ticked it off! Lloret is definitely the beach town for you if you're looking for a more lively vibe.


From Barcelona, it’s quick and easy to drive to the small towns that dot the “Wild Coast." Public transportation is also available, with trains and buses offering routes from Barcelona to the cities of Girona and Figueres. I recommend a three day trip along here, as you'd get to spend some time on the coast and a half or full day in Girona or Figueres.


How to get to the Costa Brava from Barcelona:

The quickest way to get from Barcelona to Costa Brava is to take a bus (I used SEPA). Tickets cost on average 3 USD and travel time is 4 hours. You can also take the train, which will go up and down the coast from Barcelona, which is very convenient.


 

VALENCIA: Mixing the Old with the New



Spain’s third-largest city is a magnificent place, and I'm glad I ultimately decided to do a weekend here instead of the much-further-from-Barcelona-Seville. The strikingly futuristic buildings of the Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias, are an amazing contrast to the city's Ciudat Vieja and cathedrals. Brilliant contemporary buildings grace the city, which also has a fistful of fabulous Modernista buildings, great museums, a long stretch of city beach and a large, characterful old quarter. Valencia, surrounded by its huerta, a fertile zone of market gardens, is famous as the home of rice dishes such as paella, but its buzzy dining scene offers plenty more besides that.


I was excited to visit Valencia mainly for the Oceanographic, but loved exploring the old quarter and was super pleased by the city's local beach. I didn't expect to spend any time at the beach here, as I'd heard the best Valencian beaches are outside of the city and closer to the coast. But Playa de la Malvarrosa honestly exceeded my expectations! The waters were clear and the sand wasn't crowded. I had dinner at a fancy beach club and was living for the Agua de Valencia, which I highly recommend!


To top it all off, Valencia is as pleasing to the eyes as it is to the wallet. Although it has spent years hiding in the shadows of larger cities like Barcelona or Madrid, Valencia offers a mixture of both history and contemporary atmosphere for a fraction of the cost!

How to get to Valencia from Barcelona:

The train ride from Barcelona to Valencia winds along the coast for a large duration of the trip, with breathtaking views of the Mediterranean out of the left-side windows. Tickets can be purchased directly from Spain's national rail service, Renfe. The prices are reasonable, and it's easier than scheduling for a bus. Roundtrip, I paid 25 euros!


 

MADRID: Spain's New York City



Madrid is a bustling, outgoing city with miles of parks, plazas, and restaurant patios perfect for lingering outdoors. No two neighborhoods are alike: you've got the cuffed pants, man-bun hipsters who flock to bohemian Malasaña and multicultural Lavapiés, while yuppies and well-heeled families gravitate toward posh Salamanca and stately Barrio de Las Letras. The historic center (Centro) is a place for all ages and is full of life well into the night!


I actually didn't enjoy my time in Madrid as much as I did in other Spanish cities. It reminded me a lot of NYC and DC, lively and chic, but the architecture here paled in comparison to that in Barcelona or Valencia. I loved shopping here, and the food was great, but I think I could have shortened my four day stay here to two or three.


My favorite experiences here were Puerta del Sol (the heart of modern Madrid), the lavish Royal Palace, and enjoying a shady siesta in Retiro Park. Save time for Madrid's elegant shops and people-friendly pedestrian zones, and wander some of the cobbled alleys to find some hidden food gems! However, one thing I wish I hadn't missed out on during my stay here is the night life. The city definitely comes alive at night, and is said to have one of the best after dark experiences in the country!


How to get to Madrid from Barcelona:

Similar to when traveling to Valencia, I recommend using the Renfe system as opposed to a bus. I rode with OIGO for my weekend trip to Madrid, a separate service from Renfe but with a platform inside the major train stations in Barcelona (it happened to be cheaper than the Renfe tickets, but that won't always be the case). Round trip, I paid 40 euros!


 

Day Trips can be fun, but Barcelona is such a big city with so much to offer. I wouldn't want you to miss out in order to fit in multiple trips outside the city...


Overall, I'd say that a fun day trip along the Costa Brava is a unique way to encapsulate any trip to the coastal city of Barcelona. But if you are planning a longer stay in Spain, consider some of these other day trips as well! Maybe you'll be able to make it all the way to Seville...




Happy Traveling!
 

How to Support Me: Venmo Instagram




5b9586_3ac401ff312d4988847ae3b6d5b988cb~

Welcome to
Goddess Travels!

Travel has had such a profound impact on my life, and I've dedicated myself to experiencing as much as possible!

I created Goddess Travels to inspire like-minded individuals to explore, grow, and learn along with me. This community is here to inspire those with a kindred, adventurous spirit.

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CURRENTLY IN...

Paris,
France

CATEGORIES

SUGGESTED POSTS

1851797-200.png

Follow on 
Instagram!

bottom of page