top of page

HOW TO: Be Broke and Study Abroad

It sounds contradictory, but I'll tell you how I did it 😉




You guys!! Did you know?? I studied abroad!!


Yes, I'd hope that by now, the fact that I studied abroad in 2018 is permanently engrained into your memories. And as we kick off the start of my "HOW TO" series, I'd love to really go into depth as to how I did it!


If you've been here for a while now, you know that I spent an amazing semester studying in Paris, France. It was my first time outside of the country, and I did it solo. In Paris, I discovered my love for travel and knew that I wanted to explore as many places as possible.


Studying abroad is a unique opportunity for college and graduate students that promises cultural growth and a better global understanding. But it is an opportunity often limited certain groups of people.

As a Black student coming from a lower income household, I never thought I'd have the chance to study abroad. It was always something in the back of my mind, but I never thought of is as a real possibility. The resources simply weren't there. I didn't know about traveling affiliated with my college, study abroad scholarships, or even how to search for programs I'd be interested in. So, here's my ultimate list of how to's, do's and don'ts when it comes to planning a semester abroad!


 

FINDING YOUR PROGRAM


This part may feel overwhelming, but it is one of the most important steps to take when getting ready to study abroad. My US university offered their own abroad programs, but they were pretty expensive (and pricing was often on top of what students were already paying for tuition).


For me, my best bet was to apply to outside abroad programs, and to apply as an affiliate with my university. This meant that any financial aid, grants, scholarships, etc I was getting to attend my university would immediately apply to the total coast of the abroad program. And I'll tell you right now, most schools outside of the United States are significantly cheaper -- think $63k a year in the US versus $18k in Europe. For example, I was attending my university on a full scholarship, and so I ended up only having to pay $1,000 for my abroad program (which was just for housing). To top it off, I got a $500 in-program scholarship. So, the total cost of studying for six months in Paris, housing included? $500. For a semester of studies. Let that sink in for a minute.



SUGGESTED PROGRAMS


There are tons of amazing abroad programs out there, but I can specifically recommend these three:

  • CEA -- This is the program I studied abroad with. They offer programs around the world, ranging from Communications, to Architecture, to Fashion, and their classes focus on global perspectives and applying your experiences to those of others around you. There are free weekend excursions to places as far as Germany, and local outings like dinners and festivals. Oh, and they offer a $1000 flight voucher if you apply by a certain date. And yeah, ya girl flew first class for FREE (+ $5 for a window seat LOL).


  • CIEE -- This program is great in terms of their financial aid offerings, ranging from fellowships, to major-specific scholarships, and need based scholarships. They also have a global outreach, and boast partnerships with companies around the world. This is a good choice if it's not as beneficial for you to travel affiliated with your university (ie. you don't have a great financial aid package), as this program offers a wider range of scholarship and aid opportunities.


  • THE INTERN GROUP -- I interned through this program this past year in Barcelona, Spain! After interning with the company they set me up with, I was offered a part time, paid temporary position during the summer. While it's not guaranteed that you'll get a job after the internship, it is a possibility. However, the downside is that The Intern Group is the most expensive program on this list, with limited financial aid options (they cycle through five location-specific scholarships each year). However, if you are a member of NSHSS, you can apply for a scholarship to attend the program for FREE.


You can find more abroad programs, including some that are country or degree-specific, and abroad scholarships via my outside resources here!



YAY! You've found and applied to your program. Next step is getting your VISA. This may sound like a complicated process, but the main thing to remember is to apply and set up your VISA appointment early. You'll usually need proof of acceptance to your abroad program, proof of finances (or a sponsor/parent), proof of housing (often already set up by the program), and an up to date passport. A VISA for France cost me about $200 to apply for the Etudes de France, plus another $50 for the VISA. But this price can vary (ie. no VISA is required for Costa Rica). Check the VISA requirements for your chosen country to get an idea of what you'll have to budget for!

 

BUDGETING WHILE ABROAD


Yeah, so it's all well and good that you're studying in a foreign country for less than half the price of your home university...but you're still broke. And most foreign university programs don't have a cafeteria meal plan, so groceries, among other things, are on you. When I was in Paris the first time around, I didn't have a job, so any spending money I had came from savings, the online piano lessons I was giving, that sweet high school graduation cash, and any money my parents could spare to send me.


Here's how I budgeted with the $500 I had coming in each month:


  1. Setting aside $100 a month for groceries (I often spent significantly less, especially as I learned how to shop at weekend markets instead of solely in big grocery stores)

  2. A hard $250 for eating out/going out (which could also be used for when I traveled)

  3. And with what was left over, I saved for trips or splurging on ~clothes~

Remember, you're not paying rent -- food is the biggest thing you'll have to budget for. As far as text books went, my school gave us access to online copies, or physical copies we could take out from the library for free.

 

STUDY ABROAD DO'S!


GET SOCIAL

I cannot recommend this enough! Especially if it is your first time in a foreign country, take advantage of any community excursions your program offers. It's a terrific opportunity to meet others in your program, including people from other majors. I'm still in touch with a lot of people I met through CEA, including my roommate. We'll also have fun, shared experiences to look back on, like when we got lost at night during an excursion to Strasbourg and had to walk back to the hotel in the rain...


It can be really easy to get swept up in the motions of academics -- studying, homework, etc -- but try to remember that this is a unique opportunity to meet people from different countries, of different cultures, and even different disciplines. As a Communications student, I rarely saw people from the Fashion program, save for when we'd do excursions. Make the time to explore the city with new people, especially when plans fall right into your lap!


FIND LOCAL FRIENDS On that note, this is also a big one, as it's another great way to get immersed in local culture. Whether it’s local students at your school or interesting people at a bar, interacting with locals is one of the best ways to maximize your study abroad experience! I was lucky in that my program held a class at an actual French University once a week, where we studied alongside French students!


After classes, they showed us so many fun, non-touristy things to do, like going out to local restaurants that we may have never known about otherwise. This was probably the biggest factor that played into my overcoming the language barrier. Most of the French students spoke English comfortably, but I learned a lot of French through speaking with them!


TAKE ADVANTAGE OF EVERY OPPORTUNITY YOU’RE GIVEN This seems obvious right? But it can be easy to let fear, or even logic, take over and keep you from not doing something because it is a little out of your comfort zone. Now I’m not saying you should be unsafe, but don't let your fears or insecurities keep you from having a good time. Fellow introverts, I'm talking to you!

Find a $12 bus ticket from Paris to Bruges? Do it.


Your roommate invites you out with her cool group of friends? Do it!


Keen on walking home from class instead of taking the Metro like usual? Bust out Google Maps and go!


You don’t want to look back on your experience abroad and wish that you would have done more. Should-haves are the worst feeling!


 

STUDY ABROAD DON'TS!


TRAVEL EVERY WEEKEND Wait what? But shouldn’t you travel as much as you possibly can? Absolutely! And as someone who did travel nearly every weekend, it is definitely a must-do. But don't make the mistake of traveling so much that you don't get to experience your host country. There is a reason you chose to study there, after all.


I used to beat myself up about not traveling enough in August and September during my semester in Paris. In fact, my first trip out of the city wasn't until the tail-end of September, when my roommate invited me to come with her friends to Amsterdam. I remember thinking I'd missed out on exploring more of Europe because I hadn't known how amazingly cheap it was to travel across Europe ($20 roundtrip bus tickets, and $40 hostel for the weekend).


But. Because of those "wasted" two months, I'd become really relaxed in Paris. I knew the metro system really well, I knew how to order my favorite snack at the local bakery (un pain au chocolat et un chocolat chaud sil vous plait!), and I could walk the length of the sienne and know exactly how to get home.


A very important part of study abroad is being immersed in the culture, and you won’t be able to fully do that if you are gone every single weekend.

It was the best feeling to be on a flight back from Greece, Portugal, or London and knowing I was returning to a safe, known space...my home away from home!


OVERPACK I'm looking at you, indecisive heathens! It's super stressful packing for a country you've never been to, but doing some research on the weather and cultural style of a place will definitely help. Most likely you’ll see that the style in wherever you are is completely different than the style back home -- I ended up buying a lot of new staple clothing while I was out in Paris!

Just skip all that stress and try to leave room for the cool, new things you’ll bring back. Save yourself from the overweight suitcase. Trust me, it is not worth it.



SPEND TOO MUCH TIME ON YOUR PHONE WITH PEOPLE FROM HOME. This was a tough one for me. As you know, I went abroad alone, and so all of my friends and family were competing with a 6 hour time difference. I remember frantically scheduling times when we'd all be awake to sneak in a quick call, and I'd be so upset whenever one of us had to reschedule, or if I missed a call. Looking back, I realize that I wasted a lot of time...


Now, I’m not saying you have to drop off the face of the Earth and become a hermit. That would be really sad, and I don't want that for you. It’s important to keep in contact with your friends and family back home, especially during those first few weeks when you'll undoubtedly feel homesick. But if you are constantly on FaceTime or WhatsApp or texting, you will miss out on many incredible experiences. I recommend setting a time during the week where you call and catch up with people from home. As I got more used to life in Paris, I ended up scheduling calls with my parents once a week for 2 hours, and friends once a week for 2 hours. And I became less obsessive about texting -- I'd get a message during the day and be much more relaxed about replying, and not freaking out when they didn't reply back right away. I was much more confident in the space I was in, and learned to stop relying on the familiars of back home to keep me motivated!

 

It's always in my best interest to provide you guys (especially young people of color) with resources and advice to have the freedom to explore.


This blog is basically a love letter to a younger me, with (hopefully?) cool, entertaining, and useful stories and advice! I wish I had known back then all that I do now when it comes to studying abroad. Who would have thought that I'd get the chance to do it twice, as I'm currently back in Paris pursuing higher education through a graduate degree (I'll probably do a post on applying to grad schools abroad, so stay tuned!). And so, if you’re thinking about studying abroad, DO IT! It's literally been one of the best experiences of my life, and has opened so many doors in terms of general confidence, as well as what I want out of my life -- freedom.




OH, THE PLACES YOU'LL GO!

 

How to Support Me: Venmo Instagram

5b9586_3ac401ff312d4988847ae3b6d5b988cb~

Welcome to
Goddess Travels!

Travel has had such a profound impact on my life, and I've dedicated myself to experiencing as much as possible!

I created Goddess Travels to inspire like-minded individuals to explore, grow, and learn along with me. This community is here to inspire those with a kindred, adventurous spirit.

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CURRENTLY IN...

Paris,
France

CATEGORIES

SUGGESTED POSTS

1851797-200.png

Follow on 
Instagram!

bottom of page