top of page

Surviving Switzerland in November

Limited hiking, no skiing...but what else does the country offer?




It's officially wintertime! So I thought I'd pay homage to one of the most popular winter destinations in the world. A country that I visited in that awkward fall-transitioning-to-winter phase...


The mention of Switzerland conjures up images of the Swiss Alps draped in snow, houses nestled in green hills and exquisite blue lakes. Switzerland is most popular in the winter and summer months, with visitors taking advantage of the one-of-a-kind ski slopes in December through early March, and the breathtaking hiking routes in late April through October. The country offers a variety of experiences, wildlife, and views in summer, as well as the beauty of snow-covered vistas in winter.


But November? That's known as Switzerland's "dead season." It also happens to be the month that I decided to pack my bags and spend a week traveling through Bern, Lauterbrunnen Valley, Grindelwald, Thun, and Spiez. Here's how it went:



SWITZERLAND IN NOVEMBER


Keep in mind that if you're hell-bent on hiking every mountain, or if skiing is an absolute must for you Switzerland vacation, November is not an option. I personally made the decision to travel during the dead season because I was more interested in the landscapes than the activities that would be available during my time there. Switzerland is beautiful any time of the year, but the diversity of the activities the country is known for (hiking up mountains, skiing, etc) are harder to do during this rainy month.


Plus, most shops and restaurants in the smaller townships will be closed. My home base during this trip was Bern, the capital of Switzerland. Being a bigger city, everything was open, and so I never had trouble finding a place to shop or eat. But had I stayed in, say, Lauterbrunnen Valley, most everything would have been closed. I did day trips to the smaller towns in Switzerland to walk around and experience the landscapes, but I made sure to pack a lunch in case I couldn't find an open restaurant once I got there.


 

Benefits of Traveling to Switzerland in November


Now, I know that I said a lot of tourist-pulling attractions are closed in November, but there is still a ton of stuff you can do. Especially if you arrive in late November, you'll catch beautifully decorated Christmas Markets. As far as activities go, Interlaken Paragliding, Zurich City Tour, Interlaken Jet Boat, Geneva Cruising, Explore Swiss Museum of Transport, Schilthorn Cable Cars, Zurich E Tuk Tour, Geneva Hop on Hop off Bus Tour, are all open for business.


The famous Top Of Europe mountain experience is also open all year round, but be sure to check the visibility before spending money on a ticket! The day I tried to do it, the ticket lady warned me that with the fog, no one could see a thing from the top of the mountain. I ended up buying a ticket for half the price to go halfway up the mountain to experience Eiger Glacier -- the gorgeous views from the tram and the snowy landscape atop the glacier did not disappoint, so I still managed to get my snowy mountain views fix!


If you enjoy visiting museums and other indoor chronicled locations, November is the most cost-effective month to visit Switzerland. Which was a life-saver, as Switzerland is known as one of the most expensive countries in Europe! Even food at restaurants and excursion prices are cheaper during this time in the season.


As far as transportation goes, the cheapest option is to go for a multi-day rail pass, rather than buying train tickets each time you visit another city. The Swiss Travel Pass gives you access to over 500 exhibition halls and unlimited transportation across the entire country, so you’ll get a lot of bang for your buck if you use it. And if you're a European citizen (or a student in Europe like me!), you can opt for the InterRail Pass, which is half the price of the Swiss Pass!


Take advantage of your rail pass, and travel to as many cities as possible. You can even hit up more than one in a day! I wish I had planned more ahead of time (it hadn't sunk in how big the country is) and planned more excursions to the north of Switzerland along the route of the Glacier Express. Speaking of which, ALL of the scenic trains are included with the Swiss Pass and InterRail Pass -- anytime I traveled, I'd plan my routes so they'd coincide with one of the scenic trains. And because it was the low season, I didn't have to worry about paying for a seat reservation.

 

Disadvantages of Traveling to Switzerland in November


Switzerland in November is, however, one of the most gloomy months to visit Switzerland due to its climate and mobility. It gets cold and rainy, which doesn't make for the best hiking weather.


I'm not the kind of person who can just reserve a seat on the Glacier Express and watch the beautiful landscapes go by all day. I gotta be out there! So I braved the weather (luckily, it only rained once during my trip), and just ducked into an open coffee shop if things got too unbearable.


The weather in November in Switzerland is unpredictable, similar to any mountain weather. One thing I didn't enjoy was the cold without the winter/festive feel. November cold is different from December cold, ya know?


 

Whether you choose to visit the country in the high season or the low season, the most important thing to remember is to plan your route in advance. The country is huge, with diverse landscapes and experiences. Don't end up spending all of your time in Zurich and missing out on smaller (and in my opinion, prettier) towns like Thun or Grindelwald!



Overall, I don't regret coming to Switzerland in November. I got what I wanted out of it, which was to experience the breathtaking landscapes. And I did it by beating the crowds!


You: *immediately starts looking up flights to Switzerland*

 

How to Support Me: Venmo Instagram



5b9586_3ac401ff312d4988847ae3b6d5b988cb~

Welcome to
Goddess Travels!

Travel has had such a profound impact on my life, and I've dedicated myself to experiencing as much as possible!

I created Goddess Travels to inspire like-minded individuals to explore, grow, and learn along with me. This community is here to inspire those with a kindred, adventurous spirit.

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CURRENTLY IN...

Paris,
France

CATEGORIES

SUGGESTED POSTS

1851797-200.png

Follow on 
Instagram!

bottom of page