top of page

The Best (and Worst) Shows I've Watched in Quarantine

Water. Earth. Fire. Air. Long ago, the four nations lived together in harmony. Then, everything changed when the coronavirus attacked.



 

We aren't out of the pandemic, yet, but I'm starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Keep doing your part, and let's get through this!


That said, my streaming time has gone wayyy up since the start of 2020. And I'm know I'm not the only one. Netflix and Hulu have been my saviors during many long days and nights indoors. It's so comforting to hop into bed and scroll endlessly, searching for the perfect show to fall asleep to. But not everything I came across satisfied that insatiable need to distract myself with some good entertainment. In fact, some shows actually put me to sleep (like, in a bad way), or made me so angry that I wanted to throw my computer across the room - I'm looking at you, Riverdale.


So, here's a list of the Best (and Worst) shows I've watched in quarantine!


Maybe I can save you from being trapped into finishing a show that ends horribly. Maybe I'll inspire you to watch something you've heard mixed reviews about! Or, you might just take my advice with a grain of salt and watch Riverdale anyway. Your choice, I guess.


 

BEST

ATLA and The Legend of Korra



Growing up without a TV has definitely shaped my current show-viewing habits. Historically, I haven’t been a big binge-watcher, but during the transition from middle to high school, Avatar: The Last Airbender (the animated series, NOT the movie) definitely proved me otherwise. In fact, it is one of the two shows I have ever properly binged, and it's what finally convinced me that I am, in fact, secretly a waterbender.


Both series within the Avatar universe have their own unique merits, though ATLA will always hold a special space in my heart because of nostalgia (and Zuko, shhhh). The premise is your typical Chosen One plot, but the addition of many mature and though-provoking themes, lovable characters, and amazing world building and attention to detail set this show apart from any other. It's magical, beautiful, will make you laugh, and tear-bend. That, and the cast is entirely made up of people of color. We do love to see it.


I'm so glad it got a well-deserved resurgence this past year, and I simply can't wait for Avatar Studios to start producing content. If you haven't seen this show yet, this is your sign to watch it. I promise it is far from overrated.



WORST

The 100



Okay. So, I'm a CW fan because I simply can't get over the hijinks and pure preposterousness of most of these shows. But there is a line, and come the final two seasons of this show, that line was unfortunately crossed.


Humanity has been living in space for a couple of years because the planet became inhabitable. The plot follows a ragtag group of juvenile delinquents who are sent down to Earth to scope out the area and report back whether it's safe for the rest of humanity to return home. As you can imagine, it goes the Lord of the Flies route, which may be overdone, but I always love this kind of stuff. The kids discover how much Earth has changed, meet new friends, and meet new enemies. They have to adapt to new rules and laws of nature and navigate this new world, while also learning how to depend on and trust one another.


The 100's early seasons were so fun! It felt like something more clever, ruthless, and dark than most of the shows on CW. But around season 3, it seemed to lose its heart and direction. And by its final season, it was juggling time travel, multiple dimensions, an extremist cult, and killing off major characters. No bueno. I mean, there was a big battle between two factions of humanity that ended with everyone turning into magical glowing trees. Yeah. I mean, it was wild. But strange. I laughed at it. And it wasn't meant to be funny.


BEST

YOU



Y'all already know that I LOVE true crime dramas, and YOU on Netflix is one soapy, sociopathic, thriller of a ride. I mean, the fact that the main character is the villain?

*chef's kiss*


This series pulls off what few shows can - a killer first AND second season. And managing to keep viewers watching a show where the male protagonist stalks and kills women is no easy feat, either. So how does YOU do it? By accepting that Joe, the protagonist, is a bad person. Sure, we get backstory as to why he is the way he is, but we all know it doesn't justify anything he does. The show doesn't want us to justify it. And that's what builds the tension. I found myself hating the characters, and that's what made me LOVE the show.


In a sense, being frustrated by every single implausible twist, by it's frustratingly immoral characters, by its nauseating lurches from dark humor to horror, is part of the YOU experience. And by the end, it always leaves you wanting more.



WORST

Emily in Paris



Disclaimer: I watched this show all the way through, but not because it was good. It was so bad, that I needed to see how it ended. It's cringey, soapy (in a bad way), and an embarrassing mockery of French culture. And don't even get me started on our protagonist, Emily. She is awful. Between being bad at her job, bad at communicating in French, and just being a bad person in general, Emily represents everything horrible in this cruel world and yet is supposed to be seen as "adorable." No. She is arrogant, entitled, and just straight-up amoral. And! And!!! She flounces around in cute outfits and takes mediocre pictures and gets thousands of likes. I just...HOW? It's basically the "White Girl Does Nothing Special and Becomes Famous" trope.


The first half of the season is an exorcism of all of the French cliches the writers could think of: the Moulin Rouge, rich women in couture letting their tiny dogs poop on the street, chain-smoking, wine for breakfast, good-looking men making saying sexual innuendos every 3 seconds, and a disdain for American culture (fully deserved, if that is what Emily is supposed to represent). You name a stereotype, and within the first three episodes, Emily has not only encountered it, but tried to rectify it and adjust it to the American Way. I was never sure as to whether I was supposed to laugh at Emily, or if the show actually wanted me to identify with this woman.


If there is one thing to say in the show’s favor, it is that it looks great. I mean, it's set in Paris.



BEST

Promised Neverland



Y'all. This. Show. I actually haven't really gotten into anime until this past summer, when I'd finally taken a friends' advice and watched Attack on Titan and Death Note (both of which are a must-watch). And when my brother and I stumbled upon Promised Neverland while scrolling through Netflix, we decided to give it a shot.


Mind you, we went into this show cold turkey. We knew nothing about the plot, just that the screen-cap showed an adorable, smiling child running through the grass. I thought it was gonna be a sweet, fantasy, Studio Ghibli-like story. Boy, were we DEAD WRONG. Y'all. This show is a HORROR THRILLER. My jaw was literally on the floor at the end of the first episode. It was so unexpectedly terrifying that I laughed. And we binged the whole thing in a week. It's THAT GOOD.


I don't wanna give you too much on the plot with this one, because part of the enjoyment came from not knowing anything about the story before watching. But here's the basic premise: there are these cute lil orphans living on a secluded farm, with a sweet caretaker and seemingly perfect life. And then, one of the orphans get adopted. Two other orphans chase after her, wanting to say goodbye...and discover something...unexpected. Okay! That's all you get! Go watch it and then tell me your reaction to the first episode :D



WORST

The Vampire Diaries Saga



After starting this saga in late 2018, I finally finished both The Vampire Diaries and The Originals about two months ago. I started Legacies, but it might prove too much for me to bear (they have a musical episode, and an episode where Santa says "ho ho no." So.).


Okay. So The Vampire Diaries started off as kinda fun, right? And especially as it found its stride, it was pretty enjoyable. And as someone often annoyed by will-they-won't-they love triangles, I was pleasantly entertained by this one. I also love to hate on the protagonists. But come the last two seasons, I was tired. The villains just weren't threatening anymore (I mean, one villain is a Siren. Really?). BUT! That final episode really did make everything worth it.


As for The Originals, it annoyed me a lot more than Vampire Diaries. Mainly because of the AUDACITY of most of the main cast, the obvious immorality passed off as "it's okay because we're doing it for family," the HYPOCRISY, and the fact that very few characters get any development. Or if they do, they constantly backtrack for NO REASON and everyone is just okay with it. But really, it was the DIS-RE-SPECT for Marcel (one of the only Black characters) for meeeee. He deserved better.


And don't even get me started on Legacies. "Ho ho NO."



BEST

The Boys



Up until this show, I was pretty sick of superheroes. I dig Marvel, and I cried during Avengers: Endgame, but I was tired of overtly action-packed dramas with little to no plot. The Boys was the remedy to that. For one, this show is a satirical black comedy, starring a group of hero-haters in a world where Supers are marketed to society, treated and feared like gods. I loved the world building and concept already.


The series follows a group of unlikely allies as they try to dethrone the supers and outmaneuver opponents with colossal strength, X-ray vision and super-hearing. You see, the super-humans aren't as benevolent as they're made out to be, and their leader is especially cruel and corrupt. As mere humans, the Boys have to rely on cunning, inventive cruelty and dumb luck. I'd compare its dark themes to the likes of Watchmen, except with more comedy.


This makes for some pretty hyper-violent imagery, coupled with questionable moral decisions, strained laughs, and shocked gasps at every turn. You'll question who's really the villain and who's the hero, who's "more" right and who's "more" wrong, and why the heck you're chuckling when someone gets torn in half.



WORST



I actually expected to like this show, and was pretty keen on the idea of a show about a wealthy Black family living it up in Los Angeles. But I never got past the first episode. I like Black-ish, and Grown-ish as grown (lol) on me, but #blackAF just couldn't get me. Now, I know that most of Kenya Barris' work is kinda cringe and is arguably Blackness watered down for a middle-aged white woman, but I enjoy the general relatability I experience with Black-ish and Grown-ish. Both shows are also really funny. Like, the comedy is actually on point (most of the time). With #blackAF, I just wanted to crawl under a rock and die.


First off, Barris himself stars in this. No, honey. Sorry, but no. His jokes wash over me like wet sand, his acting makes me question my religion, and the sad attempts at addressing life lessons and race issues are embarrassing.


That, and Barris' character verbally abuses his entire family throughout the show, concluding with Barris resolving to accept what he sees as their shortcomings while changing effectively none of his own behavior. This could have been a pretty cool anti-comedy, except we're supposed to agree with Barris' character. In his words, he calls his family pathetic losers in order to "help make them better." Huh? This family dramedy falls substantially short of Barris' other works.



BEST

Insecure



I am SO glad I finally got to watch this show. After getting a free trial of HBO Max, I tried my best to binge as much as possible before my time ran out. I made it halfway through the first season, so if you wanna, you know, hook a girl up, lemme know.


From what I've seen so far, Insecure is a breath of fresh air. I don't think I've seen another show that showcases a Black female friendship, addresses real issues, and allows Black girls to just have fun and experience life without having to rely on Black Pain to get viewers emotional. I've been looking for a show that just has Black characters living their Black lives, navigating their platonic and romantic relationships, work life, etc. The show is insightful, distinctive, and hilarious. It's the kind of show I'd want to watch and laugh over with friends. It's the kinda show I wish I'd been able to see during the age that most of my white peers were identifying with and gushing over Mean Girls or Clueless.


I'm upset that there's not much else I can say about the show, as I haven't even seen a full season. But the fact that it's had such a positive impact on me after only a few episodes says a lot. So, again, if you can hook a girl up...



WORST

Bridgerton



Y'all are gonna hate me for this one. I mean, it was cute(ish), but besides Regé-Jean Page, there really wasn't that much to look at. And putting aside the fact that nearly every Black woman and woman of color in the show had an unhealthy or unfulfilling relationship, the characters and relationships that the story DID focus on were kinda boring...


The set and costume design is gorgeous. And the old-timey spin they put on Swift's "Wildest Dreams" still sometimes gets stuck in my head. And if you're into watching sex scenes every two minutes, then this show might be of interest to you. For me, I was more excited about the B Plot - the mystery behind the identity of Lady Whistledown, the secretive author of a gossip paper that continuously puts our characters in hot water. Now, I will admit that the reveal of Whistledown's identity is a good one. And I'm proud to say that I guessed correctly come the third episode, though I started to question it as the series went on.


Bridgerton is riddled with cliches, but it's meant to be a preposterous 1800s Gossip Girl-esque story. And I did watch it all the way through, so perhaps there is some merit to it. Or maybe I was just very bored? Who knows!


 

And that's that! The Best and Worst shows I've binged in quarantine.


Agree? Disagree? Did I miss a show I should've put on the list?

 

How to Support Me: Venmo Instagram


5b9586_3ac401ff312d4988847ae3b6d5b988cb~

Welcome to
Goddess Travels!

Travel has had such a profound impact on my life, and I've dedicated myself to experiencing as much as possible!

I created Goddess Travels to inspire like-minded individuals to explore, grow, and learn along with me. This community is here to inspire those with a kindred, adventurous spirit.

 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CURRENTLY IN...

Paris,
France

CATEGORIES

SUGGESTED POSTS

1851797-200.png

Follow on 
Instagram!

bottom of page